Home > family, photography > My first Large Family photo shoot…

My first Large Family photo shoot…


While I was on a trip to California the first full week in June I had the opportunity to photograph a family for a friend I knew as a child.  The crazy thing is the friend lives in Wisconsin and I live in Utah, but the rest of her family lives in California, where we grew up, which was the same place I was going.  She needed someone to do family pictures seeing how they haven’t had anything done in several years.

I wasn’t familiar with the layout of the land anymore, and didn’t really know where I should do the photo shoot.  Well, after talking with a local photographer decided on a location and checked it out before I met up with them.   BINGO… the place was one of the nicest looking locations in the area. The only problem I could foresee was lots of BRIGHT sunlight.   I ended up getting lucky and had some clouds roll in that gave us great lighting to use, BUT I also had WIND come up and felt bad about it, but I worked with it anyway.  I would have gladly rescheduled but the group wouldn’t be altogether again for a little while… so I did the best I could.    A great learning experience, and I wouldn’t mind doing this again, because now I know things to look for, and what lens I’d like to get before the next large family group shoot.

Categories: family, photography
  1. June 22, 2010 at 7:22 pm

    Is the photo shoot you were on when Kaylee broke her foot?
    *sigh*
    Great pics! But you already knew that.

    • June 22, 2010 at 9:05 pm

      Yes, this is the one I was doing when she hurt her foot.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

