Home > I ♥ faces, Photo Editing, Uncategorized > Fix It Friday May 28, 2010

Fix It Friday May 28, 2010


Okay it’s the last day of school for my kids, and I’m excited about that!!  But, it’s also Fix it Friday’s over at I ♥ Faces.   Where someone submits a photo that they would like to have worked on.

Which isn’t really a bad image at all. But here’s what the contributor had to say:

This week’s photo was submitted by JaimeLee at Candidly Grateful (Fun Fact: Angie had an awesome surprise at Amy Wenzel’s workshop when she got to meet JaimeLee there!) Here is what she wrote about her photo: “This is a photo of my twins at 6 weeks old. I love the photo because of their interaction and their faces, but I feel like it’s a little drab or flat. It needs some life.”

Original Image

Since I’ve just completed portraits for two different newborns this week.  I couldn’t resist to play around with this one!! So much fun.  I probably went a little overboard… but I have 4 fixes.  I use PSE 4.0 and Photoscape to edit my pictures.

In PSE 4.0 I found a way to run some of the Coffeshop Actions on my pictures. (Which I’m loving by the way)   On this first fix, I ran the  coffeeshop faded day dream action.    And cropped it down a little.

On this second one, I ran Coffeshop Perfect Portrait action, and love the pop factor that it gives these two lovely babies.   And I did a slight different crop on this one.

On this third fix, I used the saved image from the second fix, and opened up Photoscape and did a cross process middle filter, along with a cinema low filter.   I love the color pop on the wall!

And on this last fix, I decided to focus in on the hands and blur

out the rest.  It’s easy to achieve this using photoscape.  So I used the first fix jpeg and opened it up in Photoscape.  I changed the luminance curve to brighten it a few notches, and then used the out of focus region filter on it, and kept the hands in focus, while blurring out the rest.

I seriously had to stop there, or I’d find cute ways to spiff this picture up a lot more times.   Be sure to stop by at  I ♥ Faces for more great Fix it Friday edits. There are seriously so many talented people who do this!!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

